Verlander, Dickey make pitch for AL, NL Cy Young honors

Cesar Tordesillas – 4E Sports Contributor

NY, United States (4E Sports) – Four major individual awards will be presented live on MLB Network on four consecutive nights next week.

Two contributors from the Baseball Writers’ Association of America per city in each league voted for each award.

The Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year awards will be presented Monday for both the American League and the National League.

The Manager of the Year awards for each league will be presented on Tuesday. Then the presentation of Cy Young awards takes place on Wednesday before the Most Valuable Players are announced on Thursday.

Trout is competing with Cuban outfielder Yoenis Cespedes of the Athletics and Japanese pitcher Yu Darvish of the Rangers for Rookie of the Year in the AL. Washington’s Bryce Harper, Cincinnati’s Todd Frazier and Arizona’s Wade Miley are the nominees in the NL.

Of the six finalists for Manager of the Year, only White Sox rookie skipper Robin Ventura is not a previous winner. He was nominated along with Bob Melvin (2007) and Buck Showalter (1994, 2004) in the AL.

In the NL, the Reds’ Dusty Baker (1993, 1997, 2000), World Series champion Giants Bruce Bochy (1996) and Washington’s Davey Johnson (1997) got the nod.

Detroit’s reigning AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander has another shot for top pitcher in the AL. Tampa Bay’s David Price and the Angels’ Jered Weaver are the other two finalists.

Mets knuckleballer R.A. Dickey is among the three finalists for the NL Cy Young Award. Washington’s Gio Gonzalez and 2011 winner Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers are also competing.

The roster of AL MVP final candidates is composed of Adrian Beltre, Miguel Cabrera, Robinson Cano, Josh

Hamilton, and Mike Trout. Milwaukee’s Ryan Braun has a chance for a repeat as NL MVP. He’s pitted against San Diego’s Chase Headley, Pittsburgh’s Andrew McCutchen, St. Louis’ Yadier Molina and San Francisco’s Buster Posey.

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply