BCS to consider just six cities for 2015 title game

Fitzgerald Cecilio – 4E Sports Reporter

Washington, DC, United States (4E Sports) – The Bowl Championship Series will select the host of the 2015 national title game from just six cities, according to sources.

The city that will be selected will host the title game on Jan. 12, 2015 that will crown the champion of the Football Bowl Subdivision’s first playoff.

Sources told ESPN.com that cities hosting four current BCS bowls — Glendale, Arizona (Fiesta), Miami (Orange), New Orleans (Sugar) and Pasadena, California (Rose) — will be considered together with Arlington, Texas (Cotton) and Atlanta (Chick-fil-A).

Originally, the BCS commissioners planned to open the bidding to any city interested in submitting a request for proposal for the title game.

However, with the game 29 months away, the commissioners decided to go away with the bidding and consider just six sites for the national game. They are expected to announce the choice early next year.

Aside from the six cities, other cities expected to be interested include Indianapolis, Detroit, St. Louis, Orlando, Houston, San Diego, Jacksonville and Tampa.

Under new rules, the championship games will be played in host cities that will bid for the event much like cities now bid for the NFL Super Bowl.

Earlier, the BCS agreed to apply a new four-team, seeded playoff that will begin in the 2014-15 season.

According to BCS executive director Bill Hancock, a selection committee is tasked to pick the four teams that will participate each year.

Article © AHN – All Rights Reserved
About the Author

Leave a Reply