Corbett Announces Formation of Marcellus Shale Advisory Commission

HARRISBURG – Gov. Tom Corbett, in his 2011-12 budget address to the General Assembly, announced the formation of a Marcellus Shale Advisory Commission.

The purpose of the commission, Corbett said, is “to oversee how we can build around this new industry and how we can make certain we do this while protecting our lands, our drinking water, our air – all the time growing our workforce.”

Led by Lt. Gov. Jim Cawley, the commission is to report to Corbett with its findings within 120 days of its first meeting.

The commission is to address the needs and impacts of natural gas development on local communities, as well as promote the efficient, environmentally sound and cost-effect development of Marcellus Shale and other natural gas resources.

In addition to Cawley, the following individuals were invited to join the commission:

  • Mike Krancer, acting Secretary of Environmental Protection, Harrisburg.
  • George Grieg, acting Secretary of Agriculture, Harrisburg.
  • C. Alan Walker, acting Secretary of Community and Economic Development, Harrisburg.
  • Barry Schoch, acting Secretary of Transportation, Harrisburg.
  • Patrick Henderson, the Governor’s Energy Executive, Harrisburg.
  • Robert Powelson, chairman of the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission, Harrisburg.
  • Glenn Cannon, executive director of Pennsylvania Emergency Management Association, Harrisburg.
  • James W. Felmlee, president of the PA State Association of Boroughs, Harrisburg.
  • Clifford “Kip” Allen, president of the PA League of Cities and Municipalities, Harrisburg.
  • Gene Barr, vice president, Government & Public Affairs, Pennsylvania Chamber of Business and Industry, Harrisburg.
  • Terry R. Bossert, vice president, Government & Regulatory Affairs, Chief Oil & Gas, Harrisburg.
  • Jeff Wheeland, Lycoming County Commissioner, Williamsport.
  • Vincent J. Matteo, president Williamsport-Lycoming Chamber of Commerce, Williamsport.
  • Terry Engelder, professor of geosciences, Penn State University, Department of Geosciences, University Park.
  • Matthew J. Ehrhart, executive director of the Chesapeake Bay Foundation’s Pennsylvania office, Harrisburg.
  • Ronald L. Ramsey, senior policy advisor, the Nature Conservancy, Pennsylvania Chapter, Harrisburg.
  • David Porges, chief executive officer, EQT, Pittsburgh.
  • Christopher J. Masciantonio, general manager, State Government Affairs, U.S. Steel, Pittsburgh.
  • Cynthia Carrow, vice president of Government & Community Relations, Western Pennsylvania Conservancy, Pittsburgh.
  • David Sanko, executive director of the PA State Association of Township Supervisors, Enola.
  • Dave Spigelmyer, vice president, Government Relations, Chesapeake Energy, Canonsburg.
  • Randy Smith, U.S. Government Affairs Manager, Exxon Mobil, Fairfax, Va.
  • Ray Walker, chairman Marcellus Shale Coalition, Canonsburg.
  • Chris Helms, NiSource Gas Transmission and Storage, Houston, Texas.
  • Terry Pegula, Delray Beach, Fla.
  • Jeff Kupfer, Chevron, Washington, D.C.
  • Gary Slagel, chairman, PA Independent Oil & Gas Association, Wexford.
  • Anthony S. Bartolomeo, chairman, Pennsylvania Environmental Council, Philadelphia.
  • Nicholas S. Haden, vice president, Reserved Environmental Services, Mt. Pleasant.
Fugitive Melissa Palmer Taken Into Custody
James Hawkins Announces Candidacy for Re-Election to MDJ 46-3-04

Leave a Reply