Curwensville Lady Tide – MVL Champions

WESTOVER—With a 12-1 smacking over the Harmony Lady Owls the Curwensville softball team became the Moshannon Valley League champions of 2007 Wednesday afternoon. The Lady Tide are a perfect 4-0 in league play and have an overall record of 13-2. The league title is based on playing each team only one time during the season. Coach Allen Leigey said afterwards, “ Our first goal every year is to win the Mo Valley league Championship, and it is always a great accomplishment to have that in the bag.” It is the second straight outright title for the Lady Tide and their third in a row. In 2005 they shared the championship with West Branch.

Seniors Dani Struble and Dana Johnson had the hot bats as they each stroked 4 hits. Johnson had two doubles and a triple, while Struble, Ashley Demchak and Shannon McDonald banged doubles . Checking in with another triple for the Lady Tide was Samantha Haney. Driving in two runs each were Johnson, Demchak and Kristi Newpher. Leigey said, “ Well, we certainly came out swinging. I told the girls do not let this team (Harmony) hang around. Let’s keep extending the lead and take care of business. They just have a great knack of focusing, which makes my job much easier at times.” The game was called after five innings due to the ten run mercy rule.

Holly Lansberry took her record to 13-2 as she gave up three singles and struck out 8. The lone run for Harmony was unearned. Lansberry now has three victories over three straight days this week and goes for number four in four days today at Johnsonburg at 4:15.

The Curwensville Lady Tide junior varsity squad is also having a banner year with an 8-1 record thus far. Follow Lady Tide softball by logging on to………

CURWENSVILLE -12 Holly Lansberry p 4110, Dani Struble ss 4341, Dana Johnson c 4342, Ashley Demchak 3b 2122, Lauren McKeown 3b 2011, Shannon McDonald rf/cf 3111, Sara Clark cf 1000, Kristi Newpher 2b 3112, Samantha Haney lf 2111, Morgan Peterman lf 1000, Ronna Knepp 1b 2000, Stacey Johnson 1b 1000, Tess Bloom cf 1000 and Erin Bressler rf 2100.

HARMONY – 1 Kruise 2b 3000, Brink c 3010, Wholaver 3b 2100, Gallaher ss 2000, Hutton p 1000, Wright lf 2010, Neff 1b 2000, Leamer cf 2010, and Harkleroad rf 2000.

SCORE BY INNINGS                            R H  E

CURWENSVILLE           305 22x x      12 15 2

HARMONY                    000 10x x        1  3  4

ERROS-Newpher, Struble, Kruise, Wholaver, Leamer and Gallaher. LOB-Curwensville 5 and Harmony 3. DP-None. 2B-Struble, D. Johnson 2, McDonald and Demchak. 3B-D. Johnson and Haney. SAC-None. SB-Struble and Lansberry.


CURWENSVILLE Lansberry 5IP, 3H, 1R, 0ER, 1BB, 8K.

HARMONY                Hutton 5IP, 15H, 12R, 10ER, 0BB, 3K.

WP-Lansberry (13-2)  LP-Hutton

Curwensville Farm League Action
Curwensville Baseball Team - MVL Champions

Leave a Reply